Approach Angle

Starting from level ground, this is the degree of slope a vehicle can approach without scraping or hitting the front undercarriage. It's a great indication of the ability to navigate severe off-road terrain like boulders and logs. A short front overhang produces high angles of approach, thus increasing off-road ability.

Articulation

A Trail Rated® suspension is limber like a gymnast. How, exactly? Flexibility is the key to good articulation. The more a wheel can travel, or flex, the better it can maintain contact with the ground and provide the traction needed to cross an array of obstacles.

Axle Articulation

The ability of one axle to move relative to the chassis. It is the measure of the ease with which tires stay in contact with the ground (and retain traction) on very uneven terrain.

Axle Differential

An axle differential is a gear system located in the centre housing of an axle assembly designed to allow the wheels to rotate at different speeds during cornering.

Axle

A shaft that connects the front and/or rear wheels together. The suspension components attach to the axle and to the vehicle’s body frame. 

Brake Traction Control System

Transfers torque from one wheel to another on the same axle when wheel slip conditions are detected.

Breakover Angle

This off-road term refers to the degree of slope that defines the largest ramp or hill that a vehicle can travel over without scraping against the frame or underbody components.

Centre Differential – Geared

A gear system located inside the transfer case of full-time 4x4 vehicles. It is used to distribute drive torque to the front and rear driveshafts and allows the front and rear wheels to rotate at different speeds during cornering.

Clutch Plates

A series of alternating steel plates within the transfer case of many on-demand or automatic 4x4 systems. One set of plates is splined to the clutch assembly hub of the rear driveshaft; the other set is splined to the clutch drum attached to the front driveshaft. The clutch housing is usually filled with a viscous, silicone-type fluid that clings to the discs to help transfer torque to the driveshaft. The engagement of clutch plates can also be controlled electronically.

Coil Springs

A coil of flexible metal that can be compressed or stretched along its centreline axis without permanent deformation. Coil springs support the weight of the vehicle while allowing the wheels to travel up and down over bumps.

Continuously Variable Transmission (CVT)

A stepless transmission that uses a sheave clutch to transmit engine torque.

Crawl Ratio

Essential for serious off-road treks involving steep hill climbs and descents, this is the final drive ratio of a vehicle in low range. It allows Jeep® vehicles to creep along (without depressing the accelerator) at very low speeds. Essentially, the vehicle does all the work. Except with Freedom Drive II® on Patriot and Compass, crawl ratio is determined by this formula: first gear ratio x rear axle ratio x low-range 4-wheel-drive ratio. The higher the number, the better the off-road capabilities. With Freedom Drive II on Patriot, the crawl ratio is a special fixed CVT ratio of 19:1.

Crow Hop

Vehicle shudder and tire scuffing due to a binding condition in the driveline, which is usually caused by operating in basic 4-wheel-drive or part-time 4-wheel-drive modes on dry pavement.

Departure Angle

When returning to level ground from a descent, this angle indicates the degree of a slope from which a vehicle can depart without scraping or hitting the rear undercarriage.

Differential

A gear system that transmits torque to the drive wheels, while also allowing the wheels to rotate at different speeds when cornering. Vehicles with 4-wheel drive have differentials in both the front and rear axles.

Driveshaft

Shaft connecting the transmission output shaft to the differential drive pinion shaft. Vehicles with 4-wheel drive add a second driveshaft from the transfer case to the front differential. 

Electronically Controlled Coupling

Manages the torque split from front to rear with no active driver input needed, for smooth and automatic performance. It responds to throttle position or to front wheel slippage.

Fixed Yoke Output Assembly

Effectively handles the extra output from the transfer case and helps to ensure smooth and durable driveline operation.

Four-Wheel Drive

A drivetrain that utilizes a transfer case or Electronically Controlled Coupling to distribute engine power between the front and rear axles in order to drive all 4 wheels. Full-time 4-wheel-drive systems utilize a centre differential, which enables the front and rear driveshafts to turn at different speeds, thereby allowing engagement on dry pavement for normal driving conditions. A part-time system does not employ a centre differential and, during normal driving conditions, must operate only in 2-wheel drive. With a part-time system, the 4-wheel-drive mode is to be used only when off-roading or on wet or slippery surfaces.

Front Axle Disconnect

A mechanical or vacuum-operated component used primarily on 4x4 models to connect and disconnect drive torque to the front axle. When shifting from 4-wheel drive to 2-wheel drive, this system disengages the front axle from the front driveline so that the front wheels aren't turning the front driveline unnecessarily. This reduces unnecessary front driveline wear, noise and fuel consumption.

Ground Clearance

Don't drag your belly through the mud – just clear nasty logs, rocks and uneven ground without sustaining undercarriage damage. Jeep® Trail Rated® 4x4 vehicles feature optimized approach, departure and breakover angles to keep you in the clear.

High-Range

A 4WD mode used for on-road or light off-road use.

Hill Descent Control

This system uses the ABS braking to control the car's motion downhill. It also allows a smooth and controlled hill descent in rough terrain without the driver needing to touch the brake pedal. If the vehicle accelerates without driver input, the system will automatically apply the brakes to slow down to the desired vehicle speed.

Jounce/Rebound

The motion of a wheel that compresses its suspension. If a wheel is at full jounce, it is at the upper limit of its travel. The opposite of jounce is rebound, or wheel movement that decompresses a vehicle's suspension.

Limited-Slip Differential

Provides the same basic functions as an axle differential, but with an added advantage: when the drive wheel begins spinning as a result of being on a slippery surface, a limited-slip differential automatically transfers torque to the opposite wheel to help improve traction. 

Locking Differential

Provides even more traction than a limited-slip differential in tough conditions by locking the axle shafts together. Locking differentials do not allow for wheel-speed differences and must not be used on dry, paved roads.

Low Crawl Speed

The crawl ratio is the lowest gear ratio in a vehicle and is determined by multiplying the first gear ratio by the low-range ratio by the axle ratio.

Low Range

A 4WD mode used for severe off-road conditions.

Manoeuvrability

Athletic. Agile. Trail Rated®. Jeep® 4x4 vehicles have the footwork to navigate narrow gaps, dodge emergency situations and avoid cosmetic damage to underbody sills, thanks to precision steering and optimized wheelbases. 

Neutral

When the shifter is in this position, the front and rear axles spin freely. Sometimes used for towing a Jeep® vehicle behind another vehicle (such as a motor home), so that uncoupling the driveshafts is not required. Also used in the process of shifting into 4WD LOW.

Open-Centre Differential

Located in the transfer case on some full-time 4x4 vehicles, this component works in the same way as an open differential in the axles but is of a more compact design. This component employs a planetary gearset, with planetary gears that revolve around the sun gear and inside the ring gear.

Power-Robbing Friction

Surface resistance to relative motion, as of a body sliding or rolling.

Running Ground Clearance

The distance from the ground to the lowest point between the axles.

Shift-on-the-Fly

The ability to shift from 2-wheel drive to 4-wheel drive while the vehicle is moving.

Skid Plate

Helps protect the undercarriage from damage when driving off-road.

Solid Axle/Coil Springs

Ideal off-road equipment. Instead of each wheel on an axle being sprung separately (like independent suspension designs), a solid axle connects the suspension of 2 wheels. Coil springs then support the vehicle's weight and allow the wheels to travel up and down over terrain.

Suspension Travel

From full jounce to full rebound, this is the amount of vertical wheel movement allowed by the suspension.

Tow Hooks

Heavy-duty forged steel hooks, in the front and rear of a vehicle, that provide attachment points for snatch-em straps and winch cables should you get stuck.

Traction

Traction in 4x4 is equivalent to grip on asphalt. Trail Rated® traction helps you stay in control on untamed terrain, in slippery (wet, mud, snow) conditions, and on steep grades.

Transfer Case

Mounted behind and driven by the transmission on most 4x4 vehicles, the transfer case transmits power to the front and rear driveshafts in 4x4 Jeep® vehicles and offers high and low range. Compass and Patriot 4x4 use an Electronically Controlled Coupling instead of a traditional transfer case.

Transmission

A mechanism that transfers torque into usable driving power, usually through the use of gearsets. These gearsets multiply engine torque in varying amounts to meet specific driving demands. An exception is a Continuously Variable Transmission (CVT), available on Compass and Patriot, which instead operates by varying the working diameters of 2 pulleys, transmitting torque by means of an immensely strong, steel-segmented push-belt.

Two-Wheel Drive

When the shifter is in this position, the front axle spins freely while power is sent to the rear axle and wheels, which then drive the vehicle.

Viscous Coupling

A speed-sensitive device located in the transfer case that transmits drive torque between the front and rear driveshafts when wheel slip occurs. Viscous couplings are typically used on all-wheel-drive vehicles and vehicles with automatic and on-demand 4x4 systems.

What is the difference between full-time 4x4 and part-time 4x4 systems?

Full-time 4x4 systems utilize a centre differential, which enables the front and rear driveshafts to turn at different speeds, thereby allowing engagement on dry surfaces for normal driving conditions. A part-time system does not employ a centre differential and locks the front and rear driveshafts together. With a part-time system, 4x2 mode should be used during normal driving conditions and 4x4 mode is to be used only when off-roading or on wet or slippery surfaces.

Why can't you use part-time 4x4 on dry surfaces?

Part-time 4x4 systems effectively lock the front and rear driveshafts together, forming a single driving unit that does not allow for differential action between the front and rear driveshafts. Driveline noise and binding (Crow Hop) may occur when operated excessively on dry surfaces or in turns. This binding can lead to heat buildup and early part failure.

Why does Crow Hop occur?

When a vehicle turns, each wheel rotates on a different radius to the turning circle, thereby travelling different distances at different speeds. If the vehicle's front and rear axles are locked together and are turning on dry surfaces, the difference in wheel speed sometimes results in driveline binding that is released with a bang or vehicle shudder when one of the tires loses traction.

Can I shift into 4WD high range at any speed?

Shifting into 4WD high range can be done with the vehicle stopped or in motion. If the vehicle is in motion, shifts can be made up to 88 km/h (55 mph).

How long can I drive in 4WD high range?

With a part-time system, prolonged driving in 4WD high range is recommended only for wet, loose or slippery road surfaces. With a full-time system, you need not worry about switching to 2WD mode when road surfaces improve.

How fast can I drive in 4WD high range?

You should not go faster than road conditions permit.

What is 4WD low range?

4WD low range is a mode specifically designed for temporary use when additional traction and maximum pulling power are desired. Front and rear driveshafts are locked together and engine power is sent through another set of gears to multiply torque. Avoid attempting to engage or disengage low range with the vehicle moving faster than 3–5 km/h (2–3 mph), and do not use this mode for normal driving.

Can I shift into 4WD low range at any speed?

No. With the vehicle rolling at 3–5 km/h (2–3 mph), shift an automatic transmission to Neutral or depress the clutch pedal on a manual transmission. While the vehicle is coasting at 3–5 km/h (2–3 mph), shift the transfer case lever firmly through Neutral and into the low range position.

How fast can I drive in 4WD low range?

Do not exceed 40 km/h (25 mph).

Can I shift into 4WD low range when stopped?

Shifting into or out of 4WD low range is possible with the vehicle completely stopped; however, difficulty may occur due to the teeth of the gears not being properly aligned. Several attempts may be required for clutch teeth alignment and shift completion to occur. The preferred method is with the vehicle rolling at 3–5 km/h (2–3 mph). Avoid attempting to engage or disengage 4WD low range with the vehicle moving faster than 3–5 km/h (2–3 mph).

Angle d'attaque

Depuis le niveau du sol, il s’agit de l'angle de pente maximal dans lequel un véhicule peut s'engager sans endommager la sous-carrosserie avant. Il représente un excellent indicateur de la capacité du véhicule à se déplacer sur des terrains très accidentés, comme ceux parsemés de troncs d'arbres et de rochers. Un porte-à-faux avant court produit des angles d'attaque élevés et de meilleures compétences hors route.

Débattement

Une suspension homologuée Trail RatedMD est aussi souple qu'un gymnaste. De quelle façon? La souplesse est essentielle au bon débattement. Plus le débattement ou la souplesse de la roue est important, plus elle pourra maintenir un bon contact avec le sol et bénéficier de l'adhérence nécessaire pour surmonter divers obstacles.

Débattement des essieux

Capacité de déplacement d'un essieu par rapport au châssis. Cette mesure indique la facilité avec laquelle un pneu demeure en contact avec le sol (conservant ainsi son adhérence) sur un terrain très accidenté.

Différentiel d'essieu

Un différentiel d'essieu est un système d'engrenages situé dans le logement central du carter de pont, conçu pour permettre aux roues de tourner à des vitesses différentes dans les virages.

Essieu

Un arbre qui relie les roues avant ou arrière d'un véhicule. Les composants de la suspension sont fixés à l'essieu et au châssis du véhicule. 

Antipatinage aux freins BTCS

Il répartit le couple d'une roue à l'autre sur le même essieu lorsque des conditions de patinage sont détectées.

Angle de rampe

Ce terme relatif à la conduite hors route fait référence à l'angle de pente maximal d'une rampe ou de la crête d'une pente sur laquelle un véhicule peut s'engager sans effleurer le châssis ou les éléments de la sous-carrosserie.

Différentiel central – à engrenages

Système d'engrenages logé dans la boîte de transfert des véhicules équipés d'un système 4x4 à prise constante. Il partage le couple entre les arbres de transmission avant et arrière pour permettre aux roues avant et arrière de tourner à des vitesses différentes dans les virages.

Plateaux d'embrayage

Ensemble de disques alternatifs en acier logés dans la boîte de transfert de plusieurs systèmes 4x4 sur demande ou automatiques. Un des jeux de disques est solidaire par cannelures au moyeu de l'embrayage de l'arbre de transmission arrière, tandis que l'autre jeu est solidaire au tambour d'embrayage de l'arbre de transmission avant. Le carter d'embrayage est normalement rempli d'un fluide visqueux de type silicone qui enduit les disques pour faciliter le transfert de couple à l'arbre de transmission. L'accouplement des plateaux d'embrayage peut également être commandé électroniquement.

Ressorts hélicoïdaux

Boudin de métal souple pouvant être comprimé ou étiré le long d'un axe central sans déformation permanente. Les ressorts hélicoïdaux soutiennent le poids du véhicule tout en permettant aux roues de suivre les irrégularités de la route.

Transmission à variation continue (CVT)

Transmission à variation continue qui utilise un embrayage à poulie pour transmettre le couple moteur.

Rapport à forte démultiplication

Essentiel pour la conduite tout-terrain intensive impliquant la montée et la descente de pentes abruptes, il s'agit du rapport total de transmission d'un véhicule au rapport inférieur. Il permet aux véhicules Jeep® d'avancer à une vitesse ultra-lente, sans devoir appuyer sur l'accélérateur. En principe, le véhicule fait tout le travail. À l'exception du système Freedom Drive IIMD du Patriot et du Compass, le rapport à forte démultiplication est déterminé par cette formule : rapport d'engrenages de la première vitesse x rapport de pont arrière x rapport du mode 4x4 gamme basse. Plus le chiffre est élevé, meilleures sont les compétences hors route du véhicule. Dans le cas du système Freedom Drive II du Patriot, le rapport à forte démultiplication correspond à un rapport spécial et fixe de la boîte-pont à variation continue de 19 à 1.

Tressautement

Secousses du véhicule et ripage des pneus causés par un coincement des organes de transmission et qui se produit généralement lorsque le véhicule roule sur un pavé sec en mode quatre roues motrices conventionnel ou à prise temporaire.

Angle de surplomb

Lorsque le véhicule atteint le bas d'une pente descendante, il s'agit de l'angle de la pente dans lequel il peut avancer sans égratigner ou cogner la sous-carrosserie arrière.

Différentiel

Système d'engrenages qui transmet le couple aux roues motrices, tout en leur permettant de tourner à des vitesses différentes dans les virages.  Les véhicules à quatre roues motrices sont équipés de différentiels aux essieux avant et arrière.

Arbre de transmission

Arbre qui relie l'arbre secondaire de la transmission à l'arbre d'attaque du différentiel. Les véhicules à quatre roues motrices possèdent un deuxième arbre de transmission reliant la boîte de transfert au différentiel avant. 

Coupleur électronique

Permet de gérer la répartition du couple de l'avant vers l'arrière sans aucune intervention de la part du conducteur pour une performance automatique et en douceur. Le système répond à la position du papillon ou au patinage des roues avant.

Chape de sortie fixe

Permet de gérer efficacement la puissance supplémentaire provenant de la boîte de transfert et d'assurer un fonctionnement durable et en douceur des organes de transmission.

Quatre roues motrices

Groupe motopropulseur utilisant une boîte de transfert ou un coupleur électronique pour distribuer la puissance du moteur entre les essieux avant et arrière afin d'entraîner les quatre roues du véhicule. Les systèmes à quatre roues motrices à prise constante utilisent un différentiel central qui permet aux arbres de transmission avant et arrière de tourner à des vitesses différentes, et ainsi de pouvoir s'engager sur une route pavée sèche dans des conditions de conduite normales. Les systèmes à prise temporaire n'utilisent pas de différentiel central et ne peuvent ainsi rouler qu'en mode deux roues motrices dans des conditions de conduite normales. Avec un système à prise temporaire, le mode quatre roues motrices ne doit être utilisé qu'en conduite hors route ou sur des surfaces mouillées ou glissantes.

Système de désaccouplement de l'essieu avant

Dispositif mécanique ou à dépression utilisé principalement sur les modèles 4x4 et qui permet de transmettre ou de couper le couple à l'essieu avant. Au moment de passer du mode quatre roues motrices au mode deux roues motrices, le système désaccouple l'essieu avant de l'arbre de transmission avant, de façon à ce que les roues avant n'entraînent plus inutilement les organes de transmission avant. Ainsi, on réduit l'usure inutile des organes de transmission avant, le bruit de fonctionnement et la consommation de carburant.

Garde au sol

Ne rampez pas dans la boue. Surmontez sans difficulté les troncs d’arbres, les rochers et les terrains accidentés sans endommager votre sous-carrosserie. Les véhicules Jeep® 4x4 homologués Trail RatedMD proposent des angles d’attaque, de surplomb et de rampe qui vous empêcheront de rester pris.

Gamme haute

Mode quatre roues motrices utilisé sur la route ou sur les sentiers hors route modérés.

Limiteur de vitesse en descente

Ce système utilise les freins antiblocage pour contrôler la vitesse du véhicule dans les descentes. Il permet aussi des descentes assistées en douceur sur terrain accidenté sans que le conducteur ait à solliciter les freins. Si le véhicule accélère sans l'intervention du conducteur, le système appliquera automatiquement les freins pour ralentir le véhicule à la vitesse désirée.

Compression et détente

Mouvement d'une roue lorsqu'elle comprime la suspension. Lorsque la roue comprime pleinement la suspension, elle atteint la limite supérieure de débattement. Le mouvement opposé se nomme la détente, c'est-à-dire le mouvement de la roue qui décomprime la suspension du véhicule.

Différentiel autobloquant

Offre les mêmes fonctions de base qu'un différentiel d'essieu, mais présente un avantage supplémentaire : lorsqu'une roue motrice se met à patiner sur une surface glissante, le différentiel autobloquant transfère automatiquement le couple à la roue opposée pour améliorer l'adhérence.

Différentiel verrouillable

Procure davantage d'adhérence qu'un différentiel autobloquant en verrouillant les arbres de roue ensemble dans des conditions difficiles. Les différentiels verrouillables ne permettent pas les écarts de vitesse entre les roues et ne doivent pas être utilisés sur les routes sèches et pavées.

Vitesse lente

La vitesse lente est le rapport de démultiplication le plus court d'un véhicule obtenu en multipliant le rapport d'engrenages de la première vitesse par le rapport inférieur de la boîte de transfert, puis par le rapport de pont.

Gamme basse

Mode quatre roues motrices utilisé en terrain très accidenté.

Maniabilité

Athlétiques. Agiles. Homologués  Trail RatedMD. Les véhicules Jeep® 4x4 ont l'agilité requise pour naviguer dans les passages étroits, esquiver les situations dangereuses et éviter les dommages esthétiques aux seuils sous la carrosserie grâce à une direction précise et à des empattements optimisés.

Point mort

Lorsque le levier de changement de vitesse est dans cette position, les essieux avant et arrière tournent librement. On l'utilise parfois pour remorquer un véhicule Jeep® derrière un autre véhicule (comme une autocaravane), ce qui évite de désaccoupler les arbres de transmission. Également utilisé lors du passage au mode 4WD LOW (4x4 gamme basse).

Différentiel à centre ouvert

Situé dans la boîte de transfert de certains véhicules 4x4 à prise constante, ce dispositif fonctionne comme le différentiel libre dans les essieux, mais son design est plus compact. Il utilise un train planétaire et des satellites qui tournent autour d'un planétaire à l'intérieur de la couronne.

Frottement énergivore

Résistance d'une surface à un mouvement relatif, comme un corps qui coulisse ou qui roule.

Garde au sol en marche

Distance entre le sol et le point le plus bas entre les essieux.

Passage à la volée

Possibilité de passer du mode deux roues motrices au mode quatre roues motrices alors que le véhicule roule.

Plaque de protection

Aide à protéger la sous-carrosserie contre les dommages éventuels en conduite hors route.

Essieu rigide et ressorts hélicoïdaux

Idéal pour la conduite hors route. Contrairement à l'essieu d'une suspension indépendante dont chaque roue est articulée indépendamment, un essieu rigide rattache les deux roues. Des ressorts hélicoïdaux soutiennent le poids du véhicule tout en permettant aux roues d'épouser les irrégularités du terrain.

Débattement de la suspension

Mouvement vertical des roues permis par la suspension, de la pleine compression à la pleine détente.

Crochets de remorquage

Crochets en acier forgé ultra robustes montés à l'avant et à l'arrière d'un véhicule, et qui servent de points d'attache pour les sangles ou les câbles de treuillage si le véhicule s'enlise.

Adhérence

L'adhérence d'un 4x4 équivaut à l'adhérence sur l'asphalte. L'adhérence homologuée Trail RatedMD vous permet de garder la maîtrise de votre véhicule sur des terrains accidentés et glissants (pluie, boue ou neige), ainsi que dans les pentes abruptes.

Boîte de transfert

Montée derrière la transmission sur la plupart des véhicules 4x4, la boîte de transfert, entraînée par la transmission, transmet la puissance aux arbres de transmission avant et arrière des véhicules Jeep® 4x4. De plus, elle dispose d'une gamme haute et d'une gamme basse. Les modèles Compass et Patriot 4x4 utilisent un coupleur électronique au lieu de la boîte de transfert classique.

Transmission

Mécanisme qui convertit le couple du moteur en puissance d'entraînement généralement au moyen des trains d'engrenages. Ces trains d'engrenages multiplient le couple moteur afin de répondre aux demandes précises de conduite. Faisant exception à la règle, la transmission à variation continue (CVT), livrable en option sur les modèles Compass et Patriot, transmet le couple moteur de façon continue grâce à deux poulies coniques à écartement variable et à une chaîne en mailles métalliques ultrarésistante.

Deux roues motrices

Lorsque le sélecteur est dans ce mode, l'essieu avant tourne librement tandis que toute la puissance est transmise à l'essieu arrière pour propulser le véhicule.

Visco-coupleur

Mécanisme sensible à la vitesse situé dans la boîte de transfert qui répartit le couple entre les arbres de transmission avant et arrière en cas de patinage des roues. Les visco-coupleurs sont normalement utilisés sur les véhicules à transmission intégrale ou équipés d'un système 4x4 automatique et sur demande.

Quelle est la différence entre les systèmes 4x4 à prise constante et à prise temporaire?

Les systèmes 4x4 à prise constante utilisent un différentiel central qui permet aux arbres de transmission avant et arrière de tourner à des vitesses différentes, et ainsi de pouvoir s'engager sur une route pavée sèche dans des conditions normales de conduite. Un système à prise temporaire n'utilise pas de différentiel central et rend solidaires les arbres de transmission avant et arrière. Avec un système à prise temporaire, le mode 4x2 doit être utilisé en conduite normale, tandis que le mode 4x4 ne doit être utilisé qu'en conduite hors route ou sur des surfaces mouillées ou glissantes.

Pourquoi un système 4x4 à prise temporaire ne peut-il pas être utilisé sur les surfaces sèches?

Les systèmes 4x4 à prise temporaire solidarisent les arbres de transmission avant et arrière, formant ainsi un mécanisme d'entraînement unique qui ne permet pas d'action différentielle entre les arbres de transmission avant et arrière. Un bruit provenant des organes de transmission ou un coincement (tressautement) du véhicule peut se produire lorsqu'il roule sur de longues distances sur des surfaces pavées sèches ou en virage. Le coincement ainsi créé peut causer une accumulation de chaleur et une défaillance prématurée des pièces.

Pourquoi le phénomène de tressautement se produit-il?

Lorsqu'un véhicule prend un virage, chaque roue tourne dans un rayon différent du diamètre de braquage. Les roues parcourent donc une distance différente et tournent à une vitesse différente. Si les essieux avant et arrière sont solidarisés lorsque le véhicule aborde un virage sur des surfaces sèches, la différence de rotation entre les roues provoque parfois un coincement qui se libère par secousses lorsqu'un des pneus perd de l'adhérence.

Peut-on passer au mode 4x4 gamme haute à n'importe quelle vitesse?

Le passage au mode 4x4 gamme haute peut être effectué lorsque le véhicule roule ou lorsqu'il est complètement immobilisé. Si le véhicule roule, il est possible de sélectionner ce mode jusqu'à une vitesse maximale de 88 km/h (55 mi/h).

Sur quelle distance peut-on rouler au mode 4x4 gamme haute?

Avec un système à prise temporaire, il n'est pas recommandé de rouler sur de longues distances au mode 4x4 gamme haute, sauf si les surfaces sont mouillées, meubles ou glissantes. Avec un système à prise constante, il n'est pas nécessaire de sélectionner le mode deux roues motrices lorsque la surface de la route s'améliore.

À quelle vitesse peut-on rouler au mode 4x4 gamme haute?

Évitez de rouler plus vite que ne le permettent les conditions routières.

À quoi sert le mode 4x4 gamme basse?

Le mode 4x4 gamme basse est spécialement conçu pour un usage temporaire lorsqu'on souhaite obtenir plus d'adhérence et une puissance de tractage maximale. Les arbres de transmission avant et arrière sont solidarisés et le couple moteur est multiplié par un jeu de pignons supplémentaire. Évitez d'engager ou de désengager la gamme basse lorsque le véhicule roule à plus de 3 à 5 km/h
(2 à 3 mi/h), et ne sélectionnez pas ce mode pour la conduite normale.

Peut-on passer au mode 4x4 gamme basse à n'importe quelle vitesse?

Non. Lorsque le véhicule roule à une vitesse de 3 à 5 km/h (2 à 3 mi/h), placez le levier sélecteur de la transmission automatique à la position point mort, ou enfoncez la pédale d'embrayage avec une transmission manuelle. Pendant le déplacement du véhicule à pied levé à une vitesse de 3 à 5 km/h (2 à 3 mi/h), repoussez fermement le levier sélecteur de la boîte de transfert en position point mort, puis en position de gamme basse.

À quelle vitesse peut-on rouler au mode 4x4 gamme basse?

Ne dépassez jamais 40 km/h (25 mi/h).

Peut-on passer au mode 4x4 gamme basse lorsque le véhicule est à l'arrêt?

L'engagement ou le désengagement du mode 4x4 gamme basse est également possible lorsque le véhicule est complètement immobilisé, mais peut être difficile en raison du mauvais alignement des pignons. Plusieurs essais peuvent être nécessaires pour aligner les pignons et réaliser la sélection. La meilleure méthode consiste à faire la sélection pendant que le véhicule roule à une vitesse de
3 à 5 km/h (2 à 3 mi/h). Évitez d'engager ou de désengager le mode 4x4 gamme basse lorsque le véhicule roule à plus de 3 à 5 km/h (2 à 3 mi/h).